IPL 2020 Auction: Final List of Retained and Released Players for Eight Teams Revealed, Auction on December 19th!


The IPL 2020 auction transfer list is watched upon eagerly by the fans of the cash rich Indian Premier League. IPL 2020 will be the 11th season of the IPL and it promises to be bigger and better. The pre-season transfer involves a lot of rumors, speculations and shocking news about players being released or retained by every franchise. The transfer window for IPL 2020 ends on November 14th, 2019 and the list of players released by each franchise will be published in the post.

IPL 2020 Auction: List of Retained Players

In the transfer window which concluded recently, a total of 127 players in which 35 overseas players are included were retained by the eight IPL teams.

Chennai Super Kings retained 20 players, Mumbai Indians and Sunrisers Hyderabad retained 18 players each. Royal Challengers Bangalore are looking to revamp their side and hence, retained just 13 players in their squad from last year.


IPL 2020 Auction: List of Traded Players


IPL 2020 Auction: Shocking List of Released Players 

The most surprising dropouts were from Kolkata Knight Riders. KKR let Robin Uthappa, Chris Lynn, Carlos Braithwaite go and they are likely to be great buys for IPL 2020. Kings XI Punjab paid huge amounts of money for Varun Chakravarthy,Sam Curran in the last edition and hence, let them go. Jaydev Unadkat was one of the most expensive players of IPL 2019 has been released by the Rajasthan Royals. Mumbai Indians released Evin Lewis and Jason Behrendorff but look like a solid side on paper.

IPL 2020 Auction: Top 5 High Budget Players for the Auction Which Teams Will Watchout For!

The following players are likely to earn some huge cash and might be subject to stiff competition during the IPL 2020 auction.

Sam Curran – KXIP

Marcus Stoinis – RCB

Sam Billings – CSK

Ben Cutting – MI

Ashton Turner – RR

IPL 2020 Auction: Purse Details – Budget Remaining for Each Team

#CSK – 14.6 Cr #DC – 27.85 Cr #KXIP – 42.7 Cr #KKR – 35.65 Cr #MI – 13.05 Cr #RR – 28.9 Cr #RCB – 27.9 Cr #SRH – 17 Cr


Mumbai Indians’ final squad before IPL 2020 Auction:

Total Retained Players: 18 | Total Purse Available: INR 1305L

Batsmen: Anmolpreet Singh, Aditya Tare, Ishan Kishan (WK), Quinton de Kock (WK), Rohit Sharma, and Suryakumar Yadav.

All-rounders: Hardik Pandya, Jayant Yadav, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, and Sherfane Rutherford.

Bowlers: Anukul Roy, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga, Mitchell McCleneghan, Rahul Chahar, and Trent Boult.

RR’s final squad before IPL 2020 Auction:

Total Retained Players: 14 | Total Purse Available: INR 2890L

Batsmen: Jos Buttler (WK), Manan Vohra, Riyan Parag, Sanju Samson (WK), Shashank Singh, and Steve Smith.

All-rounders: Ben Stokes and Mahipal Lomrar.

Bowlers: Ankit Rajpoot, Jofra Archer, Mayank Markhande, Rahul Tewatia, Shreyas Gopal, and Varun Aaron.

RCB’s final squad before IPL 2020 Auction:

Total Retained Players: 13 | Total Purse Available: INR 2790L

Batsmen: Ab de Villiers, Devdutt Padikkal, Parthiv Patel (WK), and Virat Kohli (C).

All-rounders: Gurkeerat Singh, Moeen Ali, Pawan Negi, Washington Sundar, and Shivam Dube.

Bowlers: Mohammad Siraj, Navdeep Saini, Umesh Yadav, and Yuzvendra Chahal,

SRH’s final squad before IPL 2020 Auction:

Total Retained Players: 18 | Total Purse Available: INR 1700L

Batsmen: David Warner, Jonny Bairstow (WK), Kane Williamson, Manish Pandey, Shreevats Goswami (WK), and Wriddhiman Saha (WK)

All-rounders: Abhishek Sharma, Mohammad Nabi, and Vijay Shankar.

Bowlers: Basil Thampi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Billy Stanlake, Khaleel Ahmed, Rashid Khan, Sandeep Sharma, Shahbaz Nadeem, Siddharth Kaul, and T Natarajan.

CSK’s final squad before IPL 2020 Auction: 

Total Retained Players: 20 | Total Purse Available: INR 1460L

Batsmen: Ambati Rayudu, Faf du Plessis, MS Dhoni (C&WK), Murali Vijay, N Jagadeeshan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, and Suresh Raina

All-rounders: Kedar Jadhav, Mitchell Santner, Ravindra Jadeja, Dwayne Bravo, and Shane Watson.

Bowlers: Deepak Chahar, Harbhajan Singh, Imran Tahir, Karn Sharma, Lungi Ngidi, KM Asif, Monu Kumar, and Shardul Thakur.

DC’s final squad before IPL 2020 Auction:

Total Retained Players: 14 | Total Purse Available: INR 2785L

Batsmen: Ajinkya Rahane, Prithvi Shaw, Rishabh Pant (WK), Shikhar Dhawan, and Shreyas Iyer (C).

All-rounders: Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, and Keemo Paul.

Bowlers: Amit Mishra, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Ishant Sharma, Kagiso Rabada, and Sandeep Lamichhane.

KXIP’s final squad before IPL 2020 Auction:

Total Retained Players: 16 | Total Purse Available: INR 4270L

Batsmen: Karun Nair, KL Rahul (WK), Mandeep Singh, Mayank Agarwal, Nicholas Pooran (WK), and Sarfaraz Khan.

All-rounders: Chris Gayle, Darshan Nikhade, Harpreet Brar, and K Gowtham.

Bowlers: Arshdeep Singh, Hardus Viljoen, J Suchith, Mohammed Shami, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Murugan Ashwin.

KKR’s final squad before IPL 2020 Auction:

Total Retained Players: 14 | Total Purse Available: INR 3565L

Batsmen: Dinesh Karthik(WK), Nitish Rana, Rinku Singh, Siddhesh Lad, and Shubman Gill.

All-rounders: Andre Russell and Sunil Narine.

Bowlers: Kuldeep Yadav, Harry Gurney, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Lockie Ferguson, Prasidh Krishna, Shivam Mavi, and Sandeep Warrier.

Which team is the strongest on paper in IPL 2020? Let us know in the comments below.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here